That time I interviewed Midnight Juggernauts.

Midnight Juggernauts

I’ve been a fan of Midnight Juggernauts since my final year of school back in 07, so when the chance came to interview them I jumped. Hard. Like, I was bouncing round my bedroom when I got the email confirming everything.

They were touring in South America, so the interview was all done over Skype. Now, I don’t know about what “the professionals” do, but I record  every single interview on my iPhone. There’s none of this fancy pants equipment (let’s save that for Radio class), just me, my laptop, and my phone pressed right against the speaker.

There’s also the case of where to conduct the interview. Where do the professionals do it? In their Pinterest-esque study? Their living room?

I didn’t have either option – living with my family and a distinct lack of beautiful study – so it was, of course, my bedroom. Oo-er.

I spent a good portion of the morning streaming their new album Uncanny Valley while making my bed, shoving miscellaneous clothes and shoes into a hidden corner, and ensuring I looked decent enough to be interviewing someone while not over-doing it and looking like I was on the pull. I could have spent a bit more time, you know, getting my questions together, but it was vitally important that the Midnight Juggernauts not think I was some disgusting slob who hadn’t even washed her hair.

In the end it didn’t even matter. He Skyped from his phone – no camera.

I transcribed the interview later, and the number one thought running through my head was: “Holy hell. I sound like a total prat.” But you know, I had envisioned myself TALKING to them. Face to face. I was in FACE TO FACE talking mode, not on-the-phone talking mode. They’re completely different things. Obviously.

And my Dad walked in half way though the interview. Like oh my god Dad that’s so uncool, don’t you know I’m talking to rockstars? And trying to be professional? But also I would really like a cup of tea, thanks.

The interview is now up on The Australian Times for all to read. I suggest you do. If nothing else, you may be intrigued to find out what these electro-rockers listen to when they’re not making music….

And have a listen to their new track, Memorium. It’s pretty trippy stuff. The whole album is influenced by the idea of robotics and humanity and technology. The name Uncanny Valley comes from legendary roboticist Masahiro Mori. It’s a hypothesis he wrote in 1970, which states: “I have noticed that, in climbing toward the goal of making robots appear human, our affinity for them increases until we come to a valley, which I call the uncanny valley.”

Heavy.

What are your thoughts?

