This is the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever seen on the internet.

Facepalm 2And I’ve been subjected to “2 girls 1 cup”.

Buzzfeed published at article called ‘The 9 Most Annoying Things About Atheists‘. I’m normally a big fan of wasting time on Buzzfeed, but this is the most ridiculous, closed-minded thing I’ve ever read on the internet.

Feel free to read it before you read the rest of this post, but I’m giving you fair warning: it will make your blood boil.

Besides, I’ve broken it down for you point by point. And we begin:

Buzzfeed:

Athiests 1Atheist 2

Alex:

Yes, because I frequently think of myself as a bearded bloke. I also like to ponder about things and generally think of myself as pretty clever.

Buzzfeed:

Atheist 3

Atheist 4(This is of course the hilarious ‘Goat Yelling Like A Man’ YouTube video.)

Alex:

Shit! I have clearly not looked in the mirror lately. I should probably work out more or something.

Buzzfeed:

Atheist 5

Alex:

Have I ever knocked on you door and said, “Hello. Have you got a few minutes to talk about science?”

No, no I have not. Although that might be an interesting conversation. We could talk about asteroids or viruses or lots of other cool stuff.

Buzzfeed:

Atheism 6

Alex:

Actually, this one’s partly true. But you know, if you believe in God or whatever, good for you. No seriously, I’m happy for you. I think religion and spirituality can be a beautiful thing.

That being said, show me a Christian who thinks Buddhism is better, or a Muslim who thinks Judaism is top shit. Everybody thinks their religion is superior.

Buzzfeed:

Atheism 7

Alex:

Wait, haven’t we already covered this one in Point 1?

Oh wait, my bad. He has no beard. COMPLETELY different point.

Buzzfeed:

Atheism 8

Alex:

Oh THAT’S what I look like. Thanks for clearing that up for me, Buzzfeed.

Never mind that I’m an adult who’s come to a conscious decision to be an atheist or anything.

Buzzfeed:

Atheism 9

Alex:

I saw ‘bless you’ after someone sneezes. Partly because it’s polite, partly because it’s a habit, and partly because I like the story that a demon just left their body and saying ‘bless you’ keeps it out again.

I used to love leaving cookies out for Santa, too.

Buzzfeed:

Atheism 10

Alex:

Fair call, bro.

Buzzfeed:

Atheism 11

Alex:

This is not called ‘showing off’. This is called being a sane and rational human being who would also like to pass their test.

Buzzfeed:

Atheist 12

Alex:

You know what? I would have seen her point of view if she hadn’t added: “Science doesn’t make these storms.” Some people should probably have skipped church once in a while to go to school.

Buzzfeed:

Atheism 13

Alex:

The study of historiography is the study of how history is recorded. Every text needs to be analysed for authenticity, bias, accuracy and a whole host of other things. The New Testament can teach us many things – the moral code as dictated by Rome 1,800 years ago, for example – but it is not the be all and end all.

And using logic for a book written centuries ago to one written in the last century is so illogical it hurts my brain.

Buzzfeed:

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 9.31.45 PMScreen Shot 2013-05-30 at 9.31.52 PMScreen Shot 2013-05-30 at 9.32.01 PM

Alex:

There’s so much I could say here, but I’ll be brief.

1.) There’s so much irony in this statement. Also, Google.

2.) I don’t. He has done some pretty nasty things though. Killing all the firstborn sons in Egypt? What did they ever do to you?

3.) Again, Google “The Big Bang”. Admittedly, scientists don’t have all the answers yet. We may never have all the answers. But isn’t it fun trying to figure it out?!

4.) No. Do you idolise Satan?

5.) It’s part of our culture. I like getting together with my family and exchanging presents as much as the next person. Christmas for me is about family, eating too much, Christmas trees, stockings, the same ornaments every year and Terry’s Chocolate Oranges. You can probably thank Coca Cola for most of what I like about Christmas.

6.) No one ever jumps down my throat for not believing in Satan. Besides, we DO talk about him! Have you ever seen The Exorcist?

Buzzfeed:

Atheism 14

Alex:

1.) We have a prime minister, not a president.

2.) Our prime minister is female.

3.) She is an atheist.

4.) Please do not, under any circumstances, move to Australia.

Facepalm 2

Maybe Buzzfeed was just being a massive troll today, but I still can’t believe something like this got published.

I don’t actually hate religion. If you believe in someone, good for you. I’m currently working on a post that talks about exactly this.

But seriously. Don’t knock my beliefs (and, you know, science) and expect me to take it lying down.

What are your thoughts?

