And the winner is… the Liebster Award!

Liebster Award

I’ve been nominated! The lovely Sammy Jade over at How To Run In Stilletoes nominated me for a Liebster Award! If you’re a fashion lover – or just a lover of pretty things – you should definitely go check out her blog,

I’m actually really excited about this, because:

a) I’ve always been jealous of other people’s award things on their blogs.
b) I’ve been blogging for a while now, and have been curiously anti-social about it. I’ve decided to change that, beginning with this post.
c) I’m narcissistic. Aren’t we all? Just a little bit?
d) I like lists.

So here we go!

Eleven random facts about me:

  • When I was born, it hailed so bad that everyone who came to see me in hospital had their cars damaged. Trouble maker right from the start, I guess.
  • I used to check my house for secret passageways (The Famous Five) and secret worlds (The Chronicles of Narnia).
  • When I grew up, I wanted to be an actress, author, astronaut, architect and finally in advertising… in that order. I never realised until right this second that they all began with ‘a’. Now I’ve grown up I’ve decided to be a Journalist. And one-day author.
  • I reread my favourite books and re-watch my favourite shows. All the time.
  • I’ve moved countries a total of six times. I was eighteen when I finally stayed in a country for longer than five years. I feel like I’m from everywhere and nowhere at the same time.
  • I can out-Harry Potter you. I also loved Severus Snape before you did. Call me hipster for saying that and I will avada kedavra your arse.
  • I really enjoy drawing skeletons.
  • I can’t sing, no matter how much I want to.
  • I love to eat healthy, until I mess it up with chocolate and kebabs. I think it’s a healthy combination.
  • I love a good music festival. I never want to be ‘too old’ for music festivals. I’ll be one of those old rockers, chilling at the back. I’ve never been to a camping festival, but it’s on the bucket list.
  • I ran away from home when I was ten. I packed my Tweety Bird denim backpack full of Nutella sandwiches  and walked down the road at around midnight. Then I realised I was in the middle of the Santa Cruz mountains, and had nowhere to go. So I went home.

Questions. These are also going along to the people I’ve nominated!

  1. What are your top three favourite books?
  2. If you could live in any other era, when would you choose?
  3. What is your favourite Disney film?
  4. Do you prefer sweet things, or savoury?
  5. What fictional character do you feel that you relate most with?
  6. Who would you say has been the most influential or inspirational person in your life so far?
  7. What is the one thing that you like most about yourself?
  8. If your life was being made into a film, who would you choose to play yourself?
  9. And what three songs would you include in the soundtrack?
  10. What are your thoughts on life after death?
  11. If you were a superhero, what would your power be?

My answers.

  1. Harry Potter, The Time Traveller’s Wife, and this book of Greek Mythology I stole from my grandparents house aged five and loved ever since. I re-read it every couple years. SPECIAL MENTION: The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets, by Eva Rice. I don’t know what it is about this book, but I love it. I’ve re-read it about twenty times (and no, that is not an exaggeration). I have an insatiable urge to write a screenplay of it.
  2. The 60s. Flower Power, Free Love and Shift Dresses. What’s not to love? (Special mention to the 20s, but they were disqualified due to the 30s and the 40s.)
  3. Seriously? THIS IS LIKE ASKING TO PICK A FAVOURITE CHILD. Okay, Beauty and the Beast. Or The Little Mermaid. Or Aladdin. Or The Lion King. Whatever, I know all the songs by heart anyway.
  4. I have a sweet tooth, to the eternal despair of my dentist.
  5. When I was younger, it was Hermione from Harry Potter. These days, it’s more like Robyn Scherbatsky from How I Met Your Mother. Terrible jokes? Check! Terrified of commitment? Check! Outsider from another country? Check! I would say struggling journalist, but hey, she has that cushy presenter job in NEW YORK CITY, and in this climate that is nothing short of amazing.
  6. My mum. She was (is) a hardcore feminist, and never fails to look at all sides of a story. She’s the voice of sanity in my head.
  7. Wow. This is hard. Really hard. Everything I like about myself today, I may hate about myself tomorrow. Isn’t that terrible? I can list in a heartbeat all my faults, but struggle to think of my strengths. I think perhaps it’s that I’m interested in the world around me. I never want to stop being curious and hearing other people’s stories.
  8. Mila Kunis. She is about 10000x more attractive than me (we don’t even look much alike) but I feel like we have the same cheeky sense of humour.
  9. Blame it on the Boogie – The Jackson Five. Heart’s a Mess – Gotye. Sweet Disposition – The Temper Trap.
  10. I don’t know. I’m not religious. I like hearing about other people’s thoughts on life after death. Death itself – the act of dying – I find incredibly fascinating. The rush of chemicals through the body… I’d love to know a person’s last ever thought.
  11. Flying. Nothing in the world would make me so happy.

And now I nominate….

Alex from Pop Culture Boner

Penny Lane from Mama’s Been Drinking

Kay from The Kay Days

Lou from Can I Just Say Something?

To you nomines: I actually read your blogs all the time, so I feel like I know you a little bit. Would be great to know a little bit more 🙂

***Nominees are required to state eleven facts about themselves, answer the questions provided above, nominateup to eleven people and provide them with eleven questions to answer (although, you could use the ones above if you’d like!).***

2 thoughts on “And the winner is… the Liebster Award!

What are your thoughts?

