How to dip dye your hair (without making a mess).

Look, I am no expert, but I’ve done the dip-dying thing more than my fair share of times. From pink hands to pink splodges (What? I have no idea where that stain came from. It was probably the cat.) I’ve seen it all. And in that time, I’ve discovered the absolute best in the entire world, no debating it way to go about this dip dying thing.

I’ve been approached by strangers on the street (and people in my pub) about how to go about doing it. And with Free People blogging about how dip dying’s going to be around for quite some time, I thought I’d throw my two cents in.

So here it is – ten easy steps to dip dying your hair. And then it can look as cool as this chick’s:

The Tools

Hair dye. (Duh.) I’ve gone with Manic Panic’s Hot Hot Pink, but whatever floats your boat.

Two hair ties.

Two plastic bags. (Preferably small. With tie-able ends. The kind you might use to pick up dog poo.)

A small container you never want to store food in again.

A chopstick. (Again, not one you want to use again. One of the leftover pair from the last time you ordered Chinese.)

An old towel.

Preparation

Use the small container and the chopstick to prepare the hair dye. Before you go all Neville Longbotom on me and mess up the potion, this is really very simple. All you are doing is mixing some conditioner into your formula.

Small amount of conditioner: hair dye remains the same colour, hair very happy.

Large amount of conditioner: hair dye considerably lighter, hair very happy.

For example, I can get my Hot Hot Pink to go a lovely pale pink, simply by adding about 1 part hair dye to 10 parts conditioner. It doesn’t last as long, but looks awesome. It’s a similar colour to this:

10 Steps of Dip Dye Extravaganza!

Step 1: Put a towel on the floor. Especially for you klutzes out there (myself included). No mess pretty much GUARANTEE’S a mess. But I guarantee no mess so maybe you can skip this step.

Step 2: Take off your shirt. (And dance around in front of windows.) Dye comes off skin far more easily than it comes off clothes.

Step 3: Tie your hair into two pigtails, towards the front of your head.

Step 4: Get one plastic bag, turn it inside out, and then scoop some hair dye into it. Holding the pigtail away from your body with your other hand, use your plastic-bag-covered-hair-dye-extraordinaire hand to rub the hair dye through the bottom of your pigtail.

If this is hard to visualise, imagine you’re actually picking up dog poo with the bag, only instead of the poo, there is hair dye. Does that make any sense? No? You must not pick up after your dog and are therefore a bad person. Please stop reading.

Step 5: Rub it in, baby! You don’t need to comb the dye through – just rub it in thoroughly, like you are sending your split ends lots of serum love. Combing it will just flick hair dye into inappropriate places (like your knees).

Step 6: When finished, grab the hair through the plastic bag, use your other hand to flip the bag over the hair, and tie it around your pigtail. Voila! All the hair dye is on the other side of the plastic, and there is no messy cling film to deal with.

Step 7: Repeat with your other pigtail.

Step 8: RELAX. Chill. Make a cup of tea or write a blog post about how to dip dye your hair.

Step 9: Rinse it out. Carefully. If you have a nice new shower, I recommend going NO WHERE NEAR IT. When the water runs clear, you’re good to go. Purists will say cold water is better, and it is. Those of us who live through a European winter will say sod it, hot water it is, I like not having frostbite, thank you very much. I leave this most important decision to you, my friend.

Step 10: Go forth, YOU LOOK FREAKING FABULOUS!

All photos are from the Free People Blog and We Heart It. The one below is me in my second attempt – after about a week, the colour fades to a pale pink.

And when it starts to fade to pale pink:

 

Image Credits
Image 2 – Not So Naked

10 thoughts on “How to dip dye your hair (without making a mess).

  1. Hi there, I’m so flattered that you liked my photo! (I’m the girl in the second one down.) Do you mind crediting the image with a link back to my site, http://notsonaked.com.au? It’s legally required since the image is copyrighted. Thanks so much 🙂 x

  2. 1) how long so you leave the hair bagged?
    2) is the manic panic good? I’ve heard it stains everything even after you’ve rinsed it on other websites

    • I leave it about 30 minutes… although I have to say now it’s been so long since I last did it I can’t remember! I loved manic panic, it left a couple stains in the shower which is why I used the old bathroom, but it’s nothing that a little bleach couldn’t fix.

      If you don’t wear gloves / use the plastic bag method, you will have very bright hands for a few days!

      Good luck 🙂

    • I leave it about 30 minutes… although I have to say now it’s been so long since I last did it I can’t remember! I loved manic panic, it left a couple stains in the shower which is why I used the old bathroom, but it’s nothing that a little bleach couldn’t fix.

      If you don’t wear gloves / use the plastic bag method, you will have very bright hands for a few days!

      Good luck 🙂

What are your thoughts?

