A cheeky little guide to Stonehenge

The background stuff. Want Stonehenge? Scroll down!

I’ve been applying for internships. Last week, one of them got back to me! It went along the lines of ‘Yup, your resume checks out, but can you please write us a 1500 word guide to the UK’s historic sites? By Friday?’

Full time work does not a happy writer make. But I sat down at the pub in my breaks, grabbed my laptop, and pounded the key board. And edited, re-wrote, re-edited again, and finally sent it off. Early. And then they asked me to change a few more things. So I did, and re-sent it. And now I’m waiting for a reply.

I’m fairly sure I won’t get it, but the experience definitely kicked my writing butt into gear! Besides, it’s all blog posts, isn’t it? So I’m going to be doing a few cheeky little guides, which is basically my way of saying: this was the final product. Plus a few more edits for how I really would have written it.

And without further adieu…

Stonehenge

Ancient monolithic stone structure in the Costwolds area of England. The mystery surrounding this heritage site is almost as famous as the site itself: stones up to 22 feet high and up to 45 tons in weight, originating hundreds of miles away, stand upright and arranged in a circular pattern. Who built this structure, and for what purpose? Sane theories include a sacrificial burial ground and a place to worship the Winter Solstice; insane theories point to aliens. I am 99% sure it isn’t aliens.

Stonehenge’s construction began in 3100 BC, and was built in four stages over the next 1500 years. The placement of each stone is very deliberate and carefully calculated – on a sunny day, the structure acts as an enormous sundial and monthly calendar. This most famous of Europe’s megalithic sites consists of 30 stones, of which 17 still stand.

Unfortunately, you can no longer walk right up to the stones. Instead, a path leads you around the structure, with numbers signposting sections of key interest. Don’t forget to grab a free audio guide on the way in! Without it, you’ll be pottering around Stonehenge relatively clueless.

Getting There: Your best bet is to drive. Failing that, a taxi from the nearby town of Amesbury will do the trick.

Price: Adult tickets are £7.80

Opening Times: It varies throughout the year, but for the most part it’s open year round – check the website before you go!

(Wanna check out the place where I might potentially be interning?)

2 thoughts on “A cheeky little guide to Stonehenge

What are your thoughts?

